Our network


Sandy Springs Student Wins President's Volunteer Service Award

Sandy Springs Student Wins President's Volunteer Service Award

SANDY SPRINGS, GA -- A Sandy Springs seventh grader was recently commended by Mayor Eva Galambos for performing more than 100 hours of community service in less than four months.

Katie Stanwick, who attends Ridgeview Charter School in Sandy Springs, also earned the President's Volunteer Service Award for all her hard work.

Katie spearheads Girls Who Make a Difference, an organization that allows pre-teen girls to give some hands-on help to their communities. Girls Who Make a Difference was originally founded as a way for Katie's friends to help her with her bat mitzvah project; since then, it has grown exponentially, with 25 volunteers from Ridgeview, Davis Academy and Pace Academy pitching in to offer their services to community groups and local non-profits.

The Beta Clubs at Ridgeview Charter School and Riverwood International Charter High School also volun

MOSAIC Group Wins Remodeling Awards

Atlanta-based MOSAIC Group [Architects and Remodelers] won two Contractor of the Year (CotY) Awards in a recent competition sponsored by the Atlanta Chapter of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry. The categories were Residential Kitchen ($80,001-$120,000) and Residential Exterior Specialty. William Fadul and Rick Goldstein are the company owners.

An impartial panel of judges, who are experts within the industry and associated fields, selected winners based on each entrant’s “before and after” photography and project description. Judging was based on problem solving, functionality, aesthetics, craftsmanship, innovation, degree of difficulty and entry presentation.

MOSAIC Group [Architects and Remodelers] is a design/build firm with indoor and outdoor living divisions.

Sandy Springs Fire Chief Earns National Honor

SANDY SPRINGS, GA -- Sandy Springs Fire Rescue Chief Jack McElfish has been awarded the 2010 Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award by the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC).

This national honor is co-sponsored by Provident Insurance and is awarded to the chief executive officer of a fire department of any size or composition that has demonstrated a unique commitment to fire service health and safety.

"I am extremely proud of Chief Jack McElfish," said Sandy Springs City Manager John McDonough. "Just when I think there is not another honor high enough, Chief McElfish goes out and wins something bigger and better. That's just a testament to his dedication and character and the pride that is instilled in the department we have here in Sandy Springs."

In August 2006, Chief McElfish was recruited by McDonough to design and build a fire department from the ground up.

First Montessori School of Atlanta Students Celebrate Peace Day

SANDY SPRINGS, GA -- Although the international peace symbol is older than their parents, students at First Montessori School of Atlanta incorporated it into their artwork for Pinwheels for Peace. On Sept. 21, students, ages 6-14, placed approximately 200 pinwheels in front of their campus to mark the International Day of Peace. FMSA is located at 5750 Long Island Drive in Atlanta.

Started in 2005 by two Florida teachers, Pinwheels for Peace has grown substantially over the years. Children and adults planted 3 million pinwheels around the world in 2009. "This project is an excellent way for students to express their feelings about what is going on around the world and in their lives," says Jerri King, head of schools at First Montessori School of Atlanta. "Global awareness and mutual respect are two of the school's core values. Pinwheels for Peace is not a political statement.

Sandy Springs Seeks Nominees for MLK Humanitarian Award

SANDY SPRINGS, GA -- Nominations are open for the Sandy Springs Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award.

The award will go to a person distinguished for humanitarian contributions to society in his or her business, profession, volunteerism or philanthropic life's work.

Individuals may nominate a living resident of Sandy Springs who instills pride within the community and inspires others. Each nominee must have been a resident of Sandy Springs for the past three years or longer and should embody the spirit and philosophy of Dr. King. Current Sandy Spring staff and elected officials are not eligible.

This will be the fifth time the city bestows the award. A volunteer committee makes the selection. Carolyn Axt was named the 2010 recipient of the Humanitarian Award, and in 2009, Lucy Hall-Gainer was given the honor.

Axt was honored for her volunteer and philanthropic spirit.